Found them!

After almost a week of searching I finally found the ospreys! Walking along the North bank of Loch Insh I saw a couple with cameras and binoculars looking very deliberately in a fixed direction. I could hear bag pipes playing across the loch at a little white church where it seemed there was a wedding. I followed the couples eye line and lo and behold an osprey nest!  (If I’m totally honest it wasn’t a complete surprise – it had been suggested that I walk that way and keep my eyes peeled…)

She (or he) was at the very top of a large larch tree. Sitting, just sitting. I watched for what must have been about an hour until suddenly she lifted off and flew behind the trees. Less than a minute later she returned (or perhaps the partner did) and settled herself back onto the nest.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

