The arrival of Quail

I know, I’ve had a bit of a blogging holiday but in my defense it was Christmas, new year and THEN we moved house. A great deal has happened in between time, one of the most notable things being the addition of quail. I’ll be honest, I’ve never been involved with the keeping of poultry of any kind before now and while I liked the idea of having hens ranging freely around the garden the reality of them destroying my garden would have, perhaps, been a little more difficult to live with.

I often use quail’s eggs when I’m cooking. Boiled with celery salt dip is a classic, but fried on crostini is like a tiny breakfast! Risotto starters also go down really well, especially if the main course is something light, like fish. Wild mushroom risotto (usually dried and re-hydrated) served as a starter portion is finished brilliantly by a poached quails egg, sitting on top – like an elaborate garnish. Yet it is often difficult to find these little gems for sale, the larger supermarkets have them in sometimes, but not reliably enough to have on a menu plan. So when I was offered some quail I jumped at the chance.

They seem to have settled in well, not many eggs just yet, but peeping well and adjusting to their new surroundings.

Time will tell…

This entry was posted in Cooking, Outside and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

