Slow-cooked Goose and Wild Duck Pie

As I mentioned in an earlier post there has been a rather large delivery of game to our little spot in the Galloway hills. I’ve frozen a few bits and bobs (a great deal of venison) and have set about cooking the rest.

It’s been a while since I’ve had a goose to cook and from my very limited experience I was aware of how it can be rather chewy, due to the fact that geese can live for up 20 years and might be a little tough. I was assured by the shooter that this one was a young goose (the story of how it came to be in my kitchen can be read here) but I didn’t want to take any chances.

It was going to be slow cooked, then covered with puff pastry and served up with mash potato and some sort of veg. Amazing.

Image

There were also a few duck breasts, which I thought would add a little more wildfowl to the flavour so in they went also.

The basic recipe was as follows;

  • 2 goose breasts, diced
  • 2 duck breasts, diced
  • 2 red onions (sweated slightly)
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed,
  • a (lengthy) slug of port
  • table spoon of plain flour
  • sprinkling of thyme
  • a vegetable stock cube
  • seasoning
  • then cover with water

And into the oven at not too hot (on my oven at 190 degrees, but it’s not fan assisted) for about 2 hours, stirring occasionally. After the meat is tender, (it would probably depend on the age of your goose but mine only took 1 hour and 1/2) and then cover with puff pastry and return to the oven for about 20 mins. Giving you time to make your mash and whatever veg you fancy.

Image

I love my oven gloves

It’s worth mentioning that I had intended to fry up some button mushrooms in butter and add them before the pastry went on but I totally forgot, I think they would have made a nice addition but they weren’t badly missed.

I’ll be honest, I enjoyed this very much, the goose was delicious and really stood out, the port was its perfect companion. The puff was, perhaps, a little underdone but but the time I got to that stage the whole house smelt so good it was difficult to concentrate.

As you can see I made a fairly big pie. Which meant that the following day there was still some pie. Possibly the only thing better than goose pie is cold goose pie.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slow-cooked Goose and Wild Duck Pie

  1. what does goose taste like?!! This just looks like a meat pie but a bit darker. is the meat darker?! Im intrigued

    • Bidders says:

      Hi Maisa, It tastes pretty good, gamey, and much meatier that you would expect a bird to taste! The goose meat was really dark, I should have taken a photo before I started cooking, it looks more like beef than poultry. It’s hard to describe, you’ll just have to try some…?

Leave a Reply

