Chicks Chicks Chicks!

I keep hens because they lay lovely eggs. I love that I have beautiful yellow yolked eggs whenever I want them, I never need to worry about the condition of the hens producing them, because I can look out the window and say with some confidence that they are the happiest most well looked after (spoilt) chickens that there has ever been.P1090565

All this may be true, however, I can’t pretend that I’m not motivated by that fact that chickens are just so CUTE. Especially the chicks. They all have their own little characters, if you watch them you can see the alliances they make; who is friend and foe, who the cockerel prefers and who chooses to sleep in a different shed at night…

When, a few weeks ago, it became apparent that I was not going to convince one of our girls that being broodie was not required of her, I gave in and let her keep a little clutch of eggs. Last year she managed to hatch out some grey partridges so I had no doubt she would do another fantastic job this year.Ā P1090595

And she has. Six little chickes, who I presume are silkie crosses, with perhaps some pekin and dutch bantum thrown in. Either way they are very sweet chicks and are currently scratching around the garden at three days old looking for worms with their mummy hen.

We do, however, have rather a lot of hens already so if anyone would like a silkie cross or two to add to their own collection let me know because we might have a few going spare…Ā P1090593

This entry was posted in Outside and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicks Chicks Chicks!

  1. alifemoment says:

    So cute, like them šŸ™‚

  2. They are too cute!! Happy egging! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

