Ecclefechan Tart

There’s a little town about 25 miles from me that is associated with a rather delicious tart. The town is Ecclefechan (pronounced Ekkle-FECKan) and in many ways it is really very unremarkable as a town, yet they seem to have this brilliant culinary, history!

I’m not sure if I use the “traditional” recipe or not, but I don’t care because whatever it is, I make it’s really good. IMAG0351

You’ll need to start by blind baking a pastry case, and you might have to doctor the filling to fit whatever size of pastry case you have blind baked.

for the filling

  • 110g butter, melted
  • 100g walnuts, chopped
  • 175g soft brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 250g mixed dried fruit
  • 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar (I have a lovely bottle of Demijohn Apple vinegar that I used in this one!)

Melt the butter and then combine everything pour it all into the pastry case and bake for 30 mins.

Serve hot or cold with ice-cream, double cream, whipped cream… Enjoy!

In March Bloggers around the world are looking for “British” recipes, and this is defiantly one of those!

Bloggers Around the World Logo

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ecclefechan Tart

  1. Chris says:

    The tart sounds lovely. Thank you for joining us on our food travels.

  2. Corina says:

    It looks lovely and reminds me of a huge mince pie!

  3. vannillarock says:

    yum! must admit it was a mention of Ecclefechan that made me stop 🙂 thanks for sharing.

  4. Alison says:

    I have never heard of this, but it looks delicious. Love the combination of flavours

Leave a comment